2015 Eid-ul-Fitr Prayers May Probably Be Held On Friday 17th July

2015 Eid-ul-Fitr prayers may probably be held on Friday 17th July.

Makkah Calendar reports:

Most countries of the world will be able to celebrate Eid al fitr 2015 on Friday, 17th July 2015, except a major part of Oceania and a few of the eastern-most countries of Asia. Unlike Ramadan 2015, it will not be possible to celebrate Eid ul Fitr 1436 on the same day in all parts of the world because of the visibility conditions of the crescent.

We invite you to take a look at the visibility curves for Shawwal 2015 (1436). You will notice that the Eid al-fitr moon will be born on Thursday, July 16 at 01:24 UTC. As it will be born nearly an hour and half after the day start (in UTC), there will be great chances of its visibility on the same day evening, (i.e. 16th July evening) in the countries belonging to the western part of the world. As can be seen in the visibility curve, there are good chances of direct Eid Crescent Visibility in the Polynesian islands and in many South American countries like Chile, Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, etc. Crescent visibility will be acquired in South America as well as in the whole of Northern America, all of Europe, all of Africa and in major parts of Asia before the Fajr prayer in the respective countries (the concept of extended visibility). Thus most parts of the world (except some countries of Asia and the major part of Oceania) will be able to celebrate Eid al-Fitr on Friday, 17th July 2015. The remaining countries of Asia and the majority of the countries in Oceania will fast one day more and end Ramadan 2015 on the evening of 17th July. They will celebrate Eid ul-Fitr on 18th July 2015.

Below is the list of countries where Eid al-Fitr 2015 (1436) should be celebrated on 17th July 2015.


  • Algeria               Angola                Benin                    Botswana          Burkina            Burundi
  • Cameroon         Cape Verde        Chad                     Comoros            Congo               Central African Republic
  • DRC                   Djibouti              Egypt                    Eritrea               Ethiopia            Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon                Gambia              Ghana                   Guinea              Guinea-Bissau  Ivory Coast
  • Kenya                Lesotho              Liberia                  Libya                  Madagascar       Malawi
  • Mali                   Mauritania         Mauritius            Morocco            Mozambique     Namibia
  • Niger                 Nigeria                Rwanda               Senegal              Seychelles          Sao Tome and Principe
  • Sierra Leone    Somalia               South Africa       South Sudan     Sudan                 Swaziland
  • Tanzania          Togo                    Tunisia                 Uganda               Zambia              Zimbabwe

ASIA [38]

  • Afghanistan     Bahrain               Bangladesh           Bhutan              Brunei                Burma (Myanmar)
  • Cambodia         China (Western) East Timor          India                  Iran                    Iraq
  • Jordan              Kazakstan           Kuwait                   Kyrgyzstan        Laos                   Lebanon
  • Malaysia          Maldives              Nepal                     Oman                 Palestine           Pakistan
  • Qatar                Russia (Western) Saudi Arabia       Singapore         Sri Lanka           Syria
  • Tajikistan        Thailand              Turkey                   Turkmenistan  UAE                    Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam           Yemen


  • Albania             Andorra                Armenia                Austria             Azerbaijan           Belarus
  • Belgium            Bosnia                   Herzegovina        Bulgaria            Croatia                 Cyprus
  • Czech Republic  Denmark           Estonia                  Finland             France                 Georgia
  • Germany           Greece                  Hungary               Iceland              Ireland                 Italy
  • Kosovo               Latvia                  Liechtenstein       Lithuania          Luxembourg       Macedonia
  • Malta                 Moldova               Monaco                Montenegro      Netherlands        Norway
  • Poland               Portugal               Romania               San Marino       Serbia                  Slovakia
  • Slovenia             Spain                   Sweden                  Switzerland      Ukraine                United Kingdom
  • Vatican City


  • Antigua and Barbuda           Bahamas             Barbados              Belize             Canada
  • Costa Rica                               Cuba                    Dominica              Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador                             Grenada              Guatemala            Haiti              Honduras
  • Jamaica                                   Mexico                 Nicaragua            Panama         Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia                              St Vincent           Grenadines          Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States Of America


  • Argentina                 Bolivia            Brazil                       Chile                Colombia          Ecuador                    Guyana                      Paraguay       Peru                         Suriname        Uruguay            Venezuela


  • French Polynesia

Below is the list of countries where Eid al-Fitr 2015 (1436) should be celebrated on 18th July 2015.

ASIA [9]

  • China (Eastern)     Indonesia            Japan                      South Korea          North Korea
  • Mongolia                Philippines          Russia (Central)    Russia (Eastern)


  • Palau                      Australia                Fiji                          Kiribati                     Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia            Nauru                     New Zealand        Papua New Guinea  Samoa
  • Solomon Islands   Tonga                    Tuvalu                   Vanuatu
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is based on scientific calculations and may not necessarily be out rightly accurate. Actual moon sightings may differ from one locality to another. Please consult your Ulema Council for proper guidance. Malawi Muslims Website disassociates itself from any inconvenience that may be caused for relying on the contents of this article.
Exit mobile version