Chakwera Appoints Cabinet Ministers

The newly sworn in President of the Republic of Malawi, Dr Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera has appointed the first cohort of Cabinet Ministers in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 92 (1) as read with section 94 (1) of the constitution.

According to the statement from the Office of the Chief Secretary to the Government the appointments are with immediate effect.

Minister of Finance Felix Mlusu and Minister of Homeland Security Richard Chimwendo Banda have been sworn in today at President Chakwera’s Private Residence in Area 6 in Lilongwe.

In his remarks, Chakwera who promised to have a gender balanced cabinet (40 percent women) urges the Ministers to work for the people. He says the full cabinet will be of not more than 30 people and it will be released before the Inauguration Ceremony on Independence Day, 6th July, 2020.


Right Honourable Dr Saulos Klaus Chilima, Minister responsible for the Economic Planning and Development and Public Sector Reforms.

Honourable Felix Mlusu Minister of Finance

Honourable Modecai Msiska SC Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs

Honourable Richard Chimwendo Banda, Minster of Homeland Security.

Honourable Dr Chikosa Silungwe, Attorney General

His Excellency the President has also appointed, Mr Zangazanga Chikhosi as Chief Secretary to the Government

Dr Janet Banda SC as Deputy Chief Secretary to the government

Mr Prince Kapondamgaga as Chief of Staff of State residences.

Exit mobile version