BREAKING NEWS: President Mutharika Appoints New MEC Commissioners


…Retains Commissioners Dr Jean Mathanga and Ms. Linda Kunje.

President Peter Mutharika has appointed new commissioners for Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) ahead of fresh presidential polls this month, Chief Secretary to the Government Lloyd Muhara has confirmed in a statement dated 7th June, 2020.

Reads a statement,” His Excellency the President, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 75 of the Constitution; as read with Section 4 of the Electoral Commission (Amendment Act of 2018) has appointed new Commissioners of the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) as follows;

  1. Justice Dr Chifundo Kachale – Chairperson
  2. Mr Arthur Nanthuru – Commissioner
  3. Mr Steve Duwa – Commissioner
  4. Dr Jean Mathanga – Commissioner
  5. Ms.Linda Kunje – Commissioner
  6. Dr Anthony Mukumbwa- Commissioner
  7. Mrs Olivia Liwewe – Commissioner

According to a statement the appointments are with immediate effect.